Lilly Library was founded in May of 1890 by Florence resident Alfred T. Lilly who was determined to provide a permanent library for the Florence community. The Victorian structure near Cosmian Hall was designed by C.H. Jones of Springfield and built on land donated by Mr. Lilly. The library opened with over 5,000 books on its shelves. Today, with a collection of over 20,000 books and other materials, Lilly Library proudly continues the tradition of the old-fashioned library. The antique oak tables and polished bookcases invite readers to browse, research, and explore other worlds in a quiet, peaceful reading environment. Lilly Library strives to serve the Florence community for a second century of reading pleasure.